How do you have time for that?

This is the first question I hear about my sewing endevours. Answer: I don’t. 

I look for windows of opportunities on the weekends and sew like crazy! It’s usually if the hubby takes the dogs and our 4 year old P on a walk and I put E down for a nap. I do as much as I can, as fast as I can. I have started timing myself and it seems that each set of booties takes 1-1.5 hours 😳. I’m slowly getting faster, slowly. 

Here is a look at what it takes to make these adorable tiny booties. 
1) cut fabric

2) sew heel sections together right side to right side.  (Forgot to take this pic 😩)

3) turn fabric right side out and sew seam. Insert elastic. 

4) sew toe piece to heel piece. I have layered this incorrectly and ended up with fabric facing the wrong way and/or mismatched fabric ☹️

Once you turn everything right side out you get the top(s) of your reversible shoe!

5. Add bottoms. This is the hardest step for me. You have to scrunch all of the tops to fit inside the bottoms. 

Then sew around but leave a small opening. 

Turn it inside out and…

Woohoo! Booties!

6. The ending. After you turn them inside out there’s a small hole left that you have to hand-stitch close. It took me a while to figure out how to actually have the seam be hidden. 

And they’re done. A lot of work for some pretty cute shoes. 

Leave a Reply

