I would walk 500 miles…or I would drive 90 miles for fabric. 

We live in western Colorado in a small town 

It’s very picturesque. The down side to a picturesque town is that no one wants Target, Michaels, or Wendy’s in the picture, we have no chain or box stores here. The town next to us has 2 grocery stores and the smallest/dumpiest Walmart I’ve ever seen.  So I drive 2 hours when I need something that Kroger and Walmart can’t supply. 

On Sunday I loaded up the kids in the wagon and headed on our way! (Dad stayed home and built shelves and did other manly things in our garage). 

So away we went on a 2 hour drive for fabric. It’s 90 miles of highway driving which normally would be 1.5 hours but we have to go down the mountain about 3,000 feet so it takes a little longer. It is a beautiful drive past the Blue Mesa Reservoir My daughter likes to count the tents ice fishing. There’s usually at least 50!

The Black Canyon National Park is also on the drive  Since it has been so uncommonly cold here and we’ve had 100+ inches of snow it has forced the animals to come down from the mountain tops, not great for drivers but fun for passengers. We saw a giant herd of at least 100 elk  and of course, deer the crazy part about mountain life is when you drive 2 hours you go from this to this50 and sunny!! 

We hit up our favorite Jo-Ann fabrics and, of course, Target then headed back home for Family slumber party night.

 I ended up getting fabric for a diaper changing station I hope to turn all that in to this:http://so-sew-easy.com/baby-changing-mat-pattern/#_a5y_p=2597443

I also got more fabric for shoes and bibs! Oh boy!! I tried to buy a lot of mix and match patterns so the shoes and bibs can compliment each other. We’ll see! 

One thought on “I would walk 500 miles…or I would drive 90 miles for fabric. 

Leave a Reply

